Forty years on

Forty years ago was the hottest June day ever recorded in UK, 37ºc. During that drought summer of 1976, I was living in the uplands of southern France, trying to make a go of living the rural life. Several days of the blog are about my feelings on returning for the first time since, imagining different possible lives … On Day 7, I revisit the home of the woman with whom I might have lived that life. On Days 14 and 17, I remember the rural Aveyron of forty years ago. And on Day 20, I return to our old place. It was a time I wrote about in Diggers and Dreamers. I found the place much changed, and was glad I’d recorded a world that’s now gone forever.

Leave a Reply

